Fonts, M-P

P = Poetry

P stands for Papyrus140416 -  - medium-11

Papyrus is a widely available typeface designed by Chris Costello, 1982

Plantagenet Cherokee, late 1810sto early 1820s. Fascinating story related to this and Cherokee Chief Sequoyah. http://www.omniglot.com/writing/cherokee.htm Does anyone know where the Plantagenet part of the name comes from?

POETRY

We have stumbled upon another one of my first literary loves. Since I first had to stand up in third grade and recite a poem, Kilkenny Cats by Anonymous, I have been in love with poetry.

There once were two cats of Kilkenny,
Each thought there was one cat too many;
So they fought and they fit,
And they scratched and they bit,
Till, excepting their nails
And the tips of their tails,
Instead of two cats there weren’t any
.
Yes, that was my introduction to poetry. Soon after the Kilkenny Cats, I discovered a book labeled Gifts of the Wise Men – Collected by Everett T. Brown. I can find no date on this tattered little book of mine, but it was published by The Acmegraph Company, Chicago. Does anyone have a date for me?

Since that time, I have collected and memorized many poems. It’s sort of a side hobby. On this post, I will give you a brief overview of the poets and poems I will cover in the future.

You can tell a lot about a person by the literature they love and, I believe, even more by the poetry they choose. This is a picture of me as it has been emerging over the years. On the memorized list:

A.E. Housman (March 26, 1859 – April 30, 1936) wrote one of my all-time favorite poems.
Terrence, this is stupid stuff

Thomas Hardy (June 2, 1840 – January 11, 1928) has so much wry wit and irony packed into each one of his poems.
The Ruined Maid

E.E. Cummings (October 14, 1894 – September 3, 1962). I like how Cummings would often break capital letter rules.
anyone lived in a pretty how town

I first discovered Robert Frost (March 26, 1874-January 29, 1963) when I was a freshman in college.
Fire and Ice, The Bearer of Evil Tidings, The Road Not Taken, Birches

Ruyard Kipling (December 30, 1865 – January 18, 1936)
If – I have this mostly memorized, but keep messing it up.

Charles Lutwidge Dodgson who wrote under the pen name Lewis Carroll (January 27, 1832 – January 14, 1898). I hope to eventually memorize all of his poetry.
The Walrus and the Carpenter, Jabberwocky

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (February 27, 1807 – March 24, 1882), the man who skewed the public view of history for all time.
Ride of Paul Revere

Ogden Nash (August 19, 1902 – May 19, 1971). Full name was Frederic Ogden Nash. I discovered Ogden Nash when I picked up his book, The Face is Familiar, (1940) at a garage sale. Whenever I need something light and fun, I set about memorizing another of his poems. Some of the Ogden Nash favorites of what I have so far memorized are:
Two and One Are a Problem, The Oyster, Adventures of Isabel

There are many poems on the I-Sure-Would-Like-to-Memorize List.
Some of the poets currently on the list are W.H. Auden, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, Maya Angelou, Sylvia Plath, and William Shakespeare (Sonnets).

I also love John Milton’s Paradise Lost though I doubt I will ever memorize more than a verse or two and so far I haven’t done that because I can’t decide which verses to memorize.

In addition to all the poems and poets I have mentioned there are also rock lyrics and folk lyrics which when you look at them on paper are also poetry.

I’m happily accepting suggestions on all the poems or poets I should read. What are your favorites?

-lisa

Standard

Leave a Reply

