Holidays, M-P

Happy Mother’s Day

Azalea

Happy Mother’s Day to Mothers Everywhere.

Celebrations of mothers have gone on from the ancient Greeks and Romans forward. The American holiday owes its initial concept to Julia Ward Howe, as she first proposed it in 1872.

Julia Ward Howe was a fascinating woman, activist, writer and poet, best known for writing the “Battle Hymn of the Republic”, but also for so much more. http://juliawardhowe.org/

The concept of mother’s day was then promoted and put into the public limelight by Anna Jarvis, considered the founder of the American Mother’s Day. http://womenshistory.about.com/od/mothersday/a/anna_jarvis.htm

For a complete Mother’s Day History see: http://www.mothersdaycelebration.com/mothers-day-history.html

My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.” -George Washington.

120325 -  - medium-2

George Washington did a fairly good job in praising his mother. Today I would like to praise mine.

A bunch of tulips

My mother is a most incredible woman, a woman who lived life to the fullest long before society said she could. She taught me to soar, to take risks, to be bold, and to explore the world. I love nothing more than to talk to her, share a walk, share a cup of tea, and listen to her explorations of the world around us. What we share is a treasure beyond measure. Times that I cherish, laughs that linger into the dark hours, and a sense that there is always someone who has my back, right or wrong, forever.

“A mother is not a person to lean on, but a person to make leaning unnecessary.” – Dorothy Canfield Fisher

I could spend several blog posts singing of my mother’s virtues and the love I feel for her, but today I will simply stop with what we all have in common: a profound love and gratitude for all the women, no matter who they may be, who have played the roles of our mothers.

Mother love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible” ~Marion C. Garretty

~lisa

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom Lily and the Bee

And for those of you who have procrastinated, this is a great site for those last minute ideas and poems: http://www.mothersdaycentral.com/verse/poems/

Standard

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Beautiful Mother’s Day tribute! I am grateful for such a loving, intelligent and talented daughter. I know many others will be able to take your words and will reiterate them to their mothers.

Leave a Reply

